College Welfare

Below is a list of members of the college you can talk to in confidence about any concerns or problems you might be having. If you would rather discuss your issues with a student, visit the Peer Support page.

College Welfare Officer

The College Welfare Officer is Clare Woolcott (the College Nurse). She is an experienced counsellor and is available to talk to you about about any pastoral issues, including matters of a confidential nature.

E-mail: nurse@seh.ox.ac.uk
Phone: 01865 279063
College Room: Staircase 6 Room 3

College Counsellor

The College Counsellor is Brigid Carley, a professionally qualified Psychotherapist. She is here to help you gain understanding and insight into any difficulties you may be experiencing, to develop emotional resilience and put into effect real change, enabling you to fulfil your academic and personal potential.

In college: Every Wednesday from Week 0 to Week 9
Email: counsellor@seh.ox.ac.uk
College Room: Welfare Room, Front Quad Staircase 2.2

Decanal Team

The Dean has overall responsibility for welfare matters within the College and can be consulted on a daily basis during term. The Junior Dean, Cover Dean, and the Sub-Deans at NSE, WRM and Isis are students themselves, live on site and are available to help. Full contact details for the Decanal team can be found on the noticeboards in the Lodge and the Staircase V tunnel.

Based at Queen’s Lane:

Dean: Nicholas Davidson​
Email: dean@seh.ox.ac.uk

Junior Dean: Amber Gartrell  
Email: junior.dean@seh.ox.ac.uk

Assistant Junior Dean: Timothy Delport
Email: timothy.delport@magd.ox.ac.uk

Sub-Deans:

James Angove (Dawson Street) 
Email: james.angove@seh.ox.ac.uk

Mr Andrew Ramos (NSE)
Email: andrew.ramos@stx.ox.ac.uk

Riasoya Jodah (Isis) 
Email: riasoya.jodah@seh.ox.ac.uk)

Tutors

Your tutor is available for any personal or academic problems, but if you feel that you would like to talk to someone anonymously then feel free to contact those who are in overall charge of your academic welfare:

Tutor for UndergraduatesProf. Oliver Riordan
Email: oliver.riordan@seh.ox.ac.uk
Tel: 01865 2(79073)

Tutor for GraduatesProfessor Richard Willden
Email: richard.willden@eng.ox.ac.uk

Tutor for Visiting StudentsDr. Outi Aarnio
Email: outi.aarnio@economics.ox.ac.uk